Travelers from more countries will have to supply advanced information in order to pass through security

The UK Government has expanded the list of countries for which advanced passenger information is required (API) from passengers travelling into and out of the UK.

From now on the following countries will be required to provide API:

Bahrain, Belgium, Bermuda, Canada, Caribbean, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Ghana, India, Israel, Japan, Hong Kong, Kenya, Kosovo, Libya, Malta, Mexico, Nigeria, Oman, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Spain, South Africa, South America, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, UAE and the USA.

Travel operators strongly advise their customers to provide API prior to arriving at the airport, to avoid unnecessary delays.

The API information required is:

Full given names




Date of Birth

Travel document number eg passport number

Travel document expiry date

Travel document country of issue