She believes everyone is a risk manager, and that the risk function is the office of KNOW and not NO 

RIMS has named Courtney Davis Curtis as the 2022 Risk Manager of the Year. Curtis is assistant vice president, Risk Management and Resilience Planning for the University of Chicago.

The 2022 Risk Management Honor Roll inducted Jana Utter, vice president Enterprise Risk Management for Centene Corporation.

Both were officially presented their honors at RIMS RISKWOLD 2022 Awards Luncheon & Leadership Keynote.

Curtis’ risk management philosophy focuses on two key beliefs. The first, everyone is a risk manager, and the second, the Office of Risk Management is the office of KNOW and not NO. Together, this allows Curtis and her team to effectively support the enterprise’s academic, research and health mission.

“Courtney Davis Curtis’ risk management philosophy is spot on,” said RIMS President Patrick Sterling. “Risk professionals must make it their priority to deliver solutions and create pathways for strategic initiatives to move forward.

”Not only is Courtney’s tremendous success at the University of Chicago inspiring but her commitment to giving back to the global risk management community and sharing her experiences to advance this profession is beyond admirable.”

Under Utter’s leadership at Centene, the ERM program no longer is limited to managing risks to protect value, but, instead, it is now leveraged to link ESG with strategy. 

“Collaboration is critical to risk management success and it is apparent that Jana Utter’s ability to bridge gaps across her company has created opportunities to build a strong, cross-functional program that accentuates risk management’s value at Centene,” Sterling continued.

“Through her volunteer work serving on RIMS’ committees, this Society has benefited directly from her expertise and we could not be more proud than to induct Janna into RIMS Risk Management Honor Roll.” 

The Risk Manager of the Year program aims to raise the profile of the risk management profession and the outstanding programs the honorees have implemented within their organisations.